PDA

View Full Version : F-6 vs. F-3X

tvs59
08-25-2009, 12:03 PM
I'm just getting into digital. I have a Canon Rebel XSi with 18-55mm and a 55-250 mm lens. The camera has a battery grip. Of course, there is other impedimenta: hood, battery charger, extra battery, cable, AA batteries for backup, lens cleaning kit, and several memory cards.

I'm planning a safari to Tanzania, and I want a bag which allows me to keep the 55-250 lens attached and ready for quick use. It's likely to see lots of dust and have to sit on floor of Land Rover; rougher use than normal.

Can anyone advise which of the above is likely to work best? Or is there another Domke bag which I should consider?

Jim Domke
09-02-2009, 06:54 PM
The way I look at it, don't set the bag down. Not only do you risk it being stolen, but it could bounce out of the Land Rover. I'd recommend the FX4 AF (Like the classic Super Compact FX3 but deeper) it is small and doesn't call attention to you. When walking around in the street, I'd keep the shorter lens on the camera and turn it around so the flap opens toward you.

But when you are out in the bush, keep the camera ready with long lens around your neck and the bag on your shoulder, so it won't fly out of the Land Rover or get crushed.

If you stop for lunch you can stick the camera and lens down (lens hood reversed) with body up and covered with the flap so it won'd be noticed. To protect it from the dust, use a garbage bag. I've written before on :eek: how Sports Illustrated photog Bill Eppridge carried one. He cut the bottom open and then duck taped it shut around the base of the shoulder strap and let it hang down. Bag was big enough to fold and keep the fine dust from getting inside the bag.

When it wasn't dusty, he bunched it up into a ball and tied it onto the shoulder strap.

dafiryde
09-16-2009, 11:50 PM